top of page
  • Writer's pictureJory Barnes

How Many Diapers Do I Need?

Updated: Dec 12, 2022

When creating a registry or planning a baby shower it is not uncommon for someone to ask "what size diapers do you need?" As a mom (first, second, and third time) I struggled to think of how many diapers of each size I needed. So, after some research and calculating, I came up with some average numbers to (hopefully) not have too much or too little of any size.


Here is the estimate of how many diapers you will need for each stage of diaper wearing.


 

The Breakdown

I am a pampers fan, they have worked well with my three kids but I also recommend Huggies Snugglers and Hello Bello diapers. They are also soft, absorbent, and reasonably priced. Huggies Snugglers have a stretchy band that I loved once the umbilical chord had fallen off.

As with anything in motherhood, do what is best for you and your family. If you're a first time mom I suggest only opening a small amount of different diaper types to see if your baby has any negative reactions before opening all the boxes and storing them in the nursery. Almost every store will accept diaper exchanges for store credit or to swap out the size.


Size 1 Daytime x 3 and Nighttime x 2

Size 2 Daytime x 5 and Nighttime x 3

Size 3 Daytime x 8 and Nighttime x 4

Size 4 Daytime x 7 and Nighttime x 4

Size 5 Daytime x 10 and Nighttime x 3

Size 6 Daytime x 10 - on average at size 6 and 7 most babies are over 1 year old and can start wearing pull-ups or training underwear to prepare for potty training. However, I prefer the Pampers 360 style diapers for this age if not potty training yet. Once babies turn 1 year old and are really on the move they begin to fight diaper changes and it is easier to pull these on than lay them down and try to fasten a diaper. These diapers are also harder for babies to remove on their own.

Hello Bello also makes this same style diaper in size 6 and 7 which I love! They are hypoallergenic, very soft and absorbent and a little bit cheaper than pampers.




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page