top of page
  • Writer's pictureJory Barnes

My Favorite Things- For Pumping & Bottle Feeding

Updated: Feb 20, 2021

These are a few of my favorite - pumping - things!


[Scroll to the bottom for a full list]


Those first few weeks nursing or pumping are rough on the nips. To help speed up the healing process, and provide some protection, I suggest lansinoh soothies and boobease nipple cream.

After every nursing or pumping session I would rub on the nipple cream then apply the soothies, keeping them on until the next session. Boobease cream is organic and does not have to be wiped off before nursing plus when you are pumping it provides a lubricant to reduce chaffing. For some real talk about the first month of pumping and nursing read my "My Pumping & Breast Feeding Diary - Month 1"

[click on item to purchase]


My pump is the medela pump in style.

The Medela Pump in Style has 2 speeds, which more closely mimics a babies eating habits. The speeds automatically change. When first on, the speed is fast (like a baby working to get a letdown) then, after about 3 minutes the speed slows down (to imitate the slow but stronger suck once a let down has occurred). There is a button you can press to manually change the speed and a dial to turn to adjust the suction. I have used the same pump through both of my babies.


The valves this pump comes with are not my favorite. I experienced a better suction using duck bill valves.


This year medela launched a new line of pumps that I love. My two favorite from this line are the Sonata and Freestyle Flex. These two pumps work seamlessly together for the exclusively pumping mom. The Sonata can run off it's rechargeable battery so you are not restricted to a location with an outlet. But, it is still too large to comfortable carry around to pump while doing other things. The Freestle Flex fits in your pocket! I like to use the freestlye flex for pumping on the go. Whether we are traveling in the car or I am just doing chores around the house.


I pumped for about a week without a pumping bra and it was awful. Just take my word for it, you don't want to sit holding bottles up to your chest for 20+ minutes every 2 hours. I purchased the medela pumping bra and I love it. It is true to size and holds the pump parts tightly so my pump time is really hands free.


Also, purchase extra pump parts. They tend to run off, or are not clean when you need them.

[click on item to purchase]


Pumping on the go is convenient because we operate on a eat, play, sleep cycle. I can usually pump in the car (on the way to wherever we are going) and have a fresh bottle ready for my baby when we arrive. He sleeps in the car while I pump and I am able to feed him once we get where we are going. So, for the time we are there he is well rested and fed! It's a win-win-win-win-win.


In my car pump box is...

-Car Adapter - this one is only $9 the Medela brand car adapter is $22

-Extra Pump (My older sister handed hers down to me - a Medela pump in style - It has now been through 4 babies and working like a charm) for a less bulky pump I suggest the Freestyle Flex. The Medela Pump in Style parts do not work with the Freestyle Flex.

-Extra pump parts (flanges, valves, bottles, connectors)

-Haakaa in case of a emergency

-Cooler for storing pumped milk

-Portable Bottle Warmer (opt 1 for use in the car - opt 2 for use if you have nowhere to plug in)


[click on item to purchase]



My favorite bottle feeding items


Bottles and pump parts should be sterilized after use (I throw mine in the dishwasher at the end of the day). This dishwasher caddy ensures my small pump parts don't go missing in the dishwasher.


The inchbug labels are perfect for traveling with a baby.


 

CLICK ON ANY IMAGE TO BE BROUGHT TO THE PRODUCT PAGE

I have included a few more items than discussed in the blog. Some cheaper options for the items I linked as well as my favorite bottles, nursing bras, and more.





45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page